The Wall Street Journal
USA Today
Real Estate Weekly
Business Insider

Federal Laws Which Prohibit Job Discrimination

The Doss Firm

Our office often receives calls from individuals regarding employment discrimination and we thought it may help our blog readers if we outlined several federal laws which prohibit job discrimination. As you will see, these laws are meant to protect individuals from discrimination in the workplace, whether it be in the private realm or within the local, state, or federal government.

1) Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VIII): This act specifically prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

2) Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA): The act addresses the situation where men and women who perform substantially the same work in the same establishment and prohibits unequal pay based upon sex.

3) Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA): Age discrimination aimed at individuals who are 40 years of age are older are protected by this act.

4) Title I and Title V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA): This act prohibits employment discrimination against qualified individuals who have disabilities. This act applies to the private sector as well as in state and local governments.

5) Section 501 and 505 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973: These laws specifically protect disabled individuals from employment discrimination by the federal government.

6) The Civil Rights Act of 1991: This act provides monetary damages where there is intentional employment discrimination.

Unfortunately, individuals often do not realize that there are specific laws which protect them from workplace discrimination. If you believe that you may have been discriminated against in your workplace, please do not hesitate to contact our office to discuss your legal rights. We offer a free initial consultation and welcome your call.

Contact Us Now

11-21 Wall Street sign

Free Consultation (855) 534-4581